Uncategorized

2017: So It Begins

Hey all !

I hope you all had a wonderful holiday season. I had a wonderful Christmas and an uneventful New Years, but I’m looking forward to a new beginning. Let’s catch up!

For Christmas, I started celebrating in Buffalo at my aunt’s annual girls only holiday party. Sine my aunt and uncle went their separate ways a few years ago, my aunt Lynn took tradition in her own hands and started a new one! She first started a single girls party, but recently expanded who gets invited. This year, we each filled a pair of holiday socks with some treats and my cousin read us “The Night Before Christmas” and we passed our pair of slippers to the left or to the right depending on the story. My hand knit Mukluks were a big hit and my aunt Missy ultimately ended up with them! There were a few jokes of me taking orders.


I headed back to Rochester on Christmas Eve to work (boo!) way too early and then came home to exchange gifts with Cody! He always does a great job and bought me a fermenting kit, Alton Brown’s new cookbook and….we are getting a DOG!!! (…or a cat…or a new bike if all else fails.)  He was hoping to rescue a dog from a shelter to actually have for me when we exchanged gifts, but as we’ve learned, it’s surprisingly hard to adopt a shelter dog. There is a lot that goes into each application. We’ve submitted a few and are just hoping for the best right now!

Since our families live about two hours away from each other, we spent a lot of time in the car. Luckily for me, that was a few hours of being the passenger and ended up with some uninterrupted knitting time! I was working on Andrea Mowry’s Range, which just came off the blocking board.


I also added a new Instantpot to my kitchen! I’ve experimented a little bit and starting collecting a few must try recipes. Do you have any favorites?

All in all, I feel beyond lucky to have had the holiday celebration that I did with ALL of my loved ones. This was the first year that I didn’t celebrate Christmas Eve at my brother’s house and it was a little upsetting to not be there. But I learned that you have to take advantage of who is with you and that relationships are all about sacrifice. I had a really heartwarming chat with a customer at work about how holidays change when you’re a “grown up.” She said to me that whenever someone would give me a hard time about not being able to be somewhere, they were really trying to tell me that they loved me and would miss me not being there.


I hope you all had a wonderful holiday as well and that 2017 is treating you well!

Leave a Reply

