Uncategorized

HI!

Hey everyone!

Welcome to Day Off DIY, a blog to be dedicated to crushing the hours between work. We all have many responsibilities in those hours, but I think dedicating time to your hobbies and passions is just as important as watering the plants (sorry, houseplants. I know it’s been awhile.)

My name is Alyssa and I love DIY projects. I have spent many hours browsing Pinterest and have learned quite a few crafts along the way. I’m in my mid 20s and live in upstate New York. Although I do enjoy spending some time outside, my neck of the woods isn’t so conducive to being outside from November to….April. I picked up knitting in my early teens and have put the needles aside from time to time. Right now, I’ve been knitting like crazy and have about six projects lingering on the needles. There really isn’t a limit to the other things that I have done in my spare time too, and I’m hoping that you’ll enjoy what I’m up to!

As for work, I earn my DIY budget at a bank. I won’t get too specific, but most days, I love my job. I love getting to interact with lots of people throughout the day. Money is one of the biggest concerns to most people and it’s something to be taken very seriously. I never imagined that I would be working in a bank as I went to college for history. I don’t know if it will be a long term career, but for now I’m enjoying it!  Although working in a bank often means I have to work on Saturdays, I also generally am given at least one day during the week off.

It’s been at the back of my mind for a long time to start a blog. I’ve gone back and forth and back and forth. After talking with my boyfriend, Cody, that I feel like I should start a blog,  he asked what it would be about. In the first series of back and forth, my answer was “crafts…and soup.” (We eat a lot of soup for dinner. See: cold outside for too long.) I’m hoping that Day Off DIY will be a little more interesting than just crafts and soup, but that will be main ideas here. In my indecision to actually start this blog, I have also felt a little at a loss for direction lately. Despite how serious that sounds, I spent the majority of my life going through school and now that I’ve been free for a few years, just going to work and coming home hasn’t been cutting it!

If you ever have any questions, feel free to leave me a comment or send me a message through the contact tab up at the top! As I develop this blog a little more, I will round out the ways that we can interact!

Thanks for stopping by!

Alyssa 🙂

Leave a Reply

